The Darker Side of Blogging

I’m a newcomer to blogs and blogging. I’ll admit it. I had heard about the revolutionary medium for information and entertainment, but I was a true skeptic. After some research and this blog assignment in my advanced PR writing class, I have begun to learn more about these things we call blogs. Obviously, I have been converted and now see the error in my previous thinking.

I know all about the positive outcomes of blogging for PR purposes and beyond, but I’ve read very little on the darker side of the blogosphere – the consequences no one wants to talk about.

So, here they are, several of the negative aspects of blogs and blogging for those of you who have yet to fully submerge yourselves in the treacherous world that is blogging.

1. On the average day, you will spend more time reading blogs and blogging than you will talking to your friends, being in cmom3.jpglass and sleeping combined.

2. Unless your parents are blogging themselves, your mom will forever refer to it as “blobbing.”

3. You’ll read the same information over and over but will be unable to resist clicking through to the next page about Brittany Spears’ newest tragedy.

4. Whenever something interesting, exciting or humorous happens during your day, your first inclination will be to find the nearest computer and blog about it.

5. Addiction is inevitable – see point one. Soon, as celebrities are checking into drug rehab, we will be introducing ourselves at BA: Bloggers Anonymous.

“Hi, my name is Katy, and I am addicted to blogging.”

“Hi, Katy.”

6. There is tons of advice on writing a blog, 10 Tips for Writing a Blog, 5 Simple Ways to Open Your Blog Post With a Bang, but there is little out there on how to recognize and overcome your blogging addiction.

So, what’s the moral of this tragic story? We’re all doomed. So, we might as well enjoy it.

Photo courtesy of my mom, Renae, who is very proud of my “blobbing.”

March 3, 2008. Tags: , , , , , . Life-in General, PR, social media.

One Comment

  1. mom replied:

    I love you and your blobbing, thanks for the laugh. Nice to be acknowledged, even for my stupidity. My feelings aren’t hurt. I just love you so very very much. Let’s talk or email about spring break, as I hate to use up your minutes. love mom

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

