My First Real Job? I Think I Need To Sit Down.

So, as you may have read, I landed the job of my dreams. Although I couldn’t be more excited to enter the work force once my two-month, post-college hiatus ends, I find that whenever I think about beginning my job, wait, no, GASP, starting my career, I get a more than a little short of breath.

Luckily for me and anyone else experiencing a similar panic-attack expresspersonnel.com‘s blog offers 9 Tips to a Smooth Start at a New Job.

Here we go:

1. Ask Questions. You just started your job. You don’t have all the answers. So, don’t be afraid to ask someone.

2. Take Notes. You’re going to be a little stressed out. Jot down seemingly simple things like how to operate the phone system or which login passwords to use.

3. Avoid Surfing. Don’t check your personal email or surf the net on company time. Having company materials around to study when you have a spare second can help you from being temped to Facebook stalk the guy you crushed on in business class.

4. Turn Off Your Cell Phone. We’re all attached at the hand to our cell phones, but getting fired for chatting on your phone at work may just mean you’ll instead be attached at the hand to a burger flipper. Think about it.

5. Complete Your Tasks. Doing your best work and staying on top of your responsibilities is key to impressing your boss and doing well at your new job.

6. Listen and Observe. Listen more than you talk, and you may learn something.

7. Be Positive. Enthusiasm goes a long way. Being friendly and eager to help when it comes to your coworkers will get you far.

8. Earn Respect. Everyone knows that you only have one chance to make a first impression, so prove your work ethic and give 110% all the time. Be humble about needing help and make sure to say thank you – your mom would be proud. Need more info? Check out my R.E.S.P.E.C.T. Find out what it really means for more tips on earning respect from coworkers.

9. Be a Team Player. Take time to work with your coworkers, if they need help. Don’t feel as if you’re in competition with your peers – you’ll get more work done working with, not against, your coworkers.

If you have any tips on starting a new job or common mistakes to avoid, let me know. I can use all the help I can get.

photo from istockphoto.com

July 10, 2008. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Career Advice.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

