Justifying My Addiction…to Twitter.

It’s been several months since I was first exposed to the newest and most alluring drug on the market:  Twitter. For the first couple of months, I “tweeted” only recreationally, you know, when I was bored and looking for something fun to fill the time. Plus, everyone was doing it. If I could keep it under control, why couldn’t I do it too?

But now that I have a job at which I sit in front of a computer screen for much of my day, my addiction to Twitter has reached a dangerous level. Shockingly, it has even joined forces with my CrackBerry obsession through an application called Twitterberry, which allows me to obsessive compulsively update Twitter from my phone.

So, like all true addicts, in an attempt to justify my addiction, I’ve come up with the top five things I (and you) can do with this dangerous yet great thing we call Twitter.

5. Keep your loved ones updated on your life. Awwww!

4. Get updates in real-time from your favorite news outlets (have I mentioned how much I love NPR?)

3. Stay up to date with colleagues for on the spot insights on projects your team is working on, opportunities to lend a helping hand or opinion, or simply be in the know about what’s going on in their lives.

2. Make your friends jealous of how fabulous, successful and busy your life is.

1. Follow dramatic people you don’t know. Also known as having constant access to the most amazing reality show you’ve ever encountered.

Click here to follow my addiction for yourself.

images from Twitter.com

September 22, 2008. Tags: , . Life-in General, social media.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

