Fall shows I LOVE and the wines that pair best.

I’m not going to lie to you. Lately, I’ve been working really late  (long stories, yeah, plural) anyway, some days, after a stressful day at work, I’ve been forgoing the gym and hitting the couch to discover some of this season’s new  shows from the comfort of my DVR.

This occasional habit of mine is sometimes accompanied by a glass of wine, and over the past couple of weeks, not only have I discovered some amazing wines, I’ve also found my share of great new fall shows that make even a long day at work fade away.

So,  here are my recommendations for wine and shows for you to enjoy when you just don’t feel like hitting the treadmill.

EastwickEastwick with Tuscan Moon Sangiovese: This show just began last week, so I can’t guarantee it’s going to be a season-long winner, but so far, I’ve enjoyed the Sex and the City-esque banter, Practical Magic-ish story line and female empowerment angle. This mix of magic, sex and power pair perfectly with the bold yet smooth flavors of the sangiovese. Don’t expect anything deep here, but with Halloween on the way, what could be better than this?Glee

Glee with Argyle Chardonnay: Officially my favorite show of the season, Glee is a perfect combination of hit pop music and popular show tunes with off, sometimes awkward comedy. The actors are talented and the show is just original enough that my boyfriend doesn’t hate it. Best paired with the deep flavors of this chardonnay (to balance out the fluff).

DropDeadDivaDrop Dead Diva with Rootstock Sauvignon Blanc: This show has been getting a lot of press lately, good and bad. But I have to say, regardless of what you think of the premise of the show, the roles are well cast and the characters are charming and funny. Love it with a good sauvignon blanc like Rootstock, which is approachable, well balanced and not too sweet, just like the show.  MelrosePlace

Melrose Place with any good red table wine: Believe it, my friends. The new millenium version of this primetime drama is complex and surprisingly dark. While you may not love it at first, give it a chance. Compared to Gossip Girl and 90210, this is the one to watch. Just like the repeat premise of the show, the wine that pairs best with this one is that half a bottle of table red leftover from last weekend.

With several premiers still scheduled on the DVR, I’m sure there will be more great shows and pairings on the way. Can you say The Hills? The City? Lost? Amazing Race? Can’t wait!

Got a good show and wine pairing? Let me know!

September 24, 2009. Entertainment, Life-in General.

One Comment

  1. lacey replied:

    Hey! I just did a super random search on 20sb for other bloggers in portland! And I found you, I just love your blog! I think I will follow!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

